Then…and Now

Then:

Kid…“Dad, can I borrow the car for homecoming Friday night?”

Dad…“No.”

Kid…“OK”

 

Now:

Kid…“Dad, I need to use your car for homecoming Friday. Mine’s too old.”

Dad…“I don’t know. I don’t really think that’s a good idea.”

Kid…“Why not? That’s not fair. I need to have a nice car to take my date and my friends.”

Dad…“No, I don’t think so. Can’t you just rent a limo?”

Kid…“WHAT? NO!! Nobody rents limos. That’s so lame. Why can’t I use the car?”

Dad…“Because I don’t think it’s a good idea.”

Kid…“Why not?”

Dad…“Because it’s just not a good idea.”

Kid…“Why not?”

Dad…“Well, that’s a nice car and I don’t like the idea of you and your friends riding around in it.”

Kid…“That’s stupid! I’ll be careful. Why can’t I use it? It’s not like you need it that night.”

Dad [sighs, resigned]…“OK, fine. Be careful and I want you home by curfew.”

Kid…“But it’s homecoming. Why can’t I stay out til midnight? Everyone else is.”

About oneburnedoutmama

Ever so slightly burned out mama. Love kids. Not so much on a few of the parents. Hate folding laundry. Love long stretches of silence. Prefer rain over sun and football over HGTV.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Then…and Now

  1. Leslie says:

    That is one likely possibility for “now”, another would be:

    Kid: “Hey Dad, I need money so I can go on a party bus with my friends for Homecoming. There will be about 30 of us, so I don’t exactly know who all is going, and hey, do you know know they have a stripper pole?”

    Dad: “A stripper pole, really? Isn’t this high school? ”

    Kid: “Yeah, it’s no biggie. Some people will probably have alcohol or drugs, but you know I won’t do that, right? And I’ll stay away from the back of the bus, where they are having sex.”

    Dad: “Well, I’m not really comfortable with the idea of you being around all that illegal stuff, and it doesn’t sound like there will be adults present?”

    Kid: “Dad, adults would be a drag, and as for drugs, you know I don’t do that. Hey, the dance is really stupid anyway, so we’re not going to that. We’re just going to dinner (I need money for that too) and then driving around San Diego in the party bus. OK?”

    Dad: “Let me get this straight, it’s Homecoming, you are getting all dressed up, have a date, and then you are not going to the dance? That doesn’t make sense.”

    Kid: “I said, the dances are stupid. They breathalyze you when you get there, and then the DJ sucks. Plus, they say they don’t allow dirty dancing and freaking, but it’s all over the place and really disgusting to see some of those losers doing that… gross.”

    Dad: “Well, I guess that kind of makes sense. But didn’t you say the bus has a stripper pole?”

    Kid: “Yes, but only the hot girls are going to use it, see? Oh, and you don’t have to worry about curfew, the bus will just drop us off at the Jones’ for the after party… it’s OK with Mrs. Jones, even though they are out of town for the weekend. I’ll just spend the night there.”

    Dad: “Well, as long as you aren’t involved with the drugs, alcohol or sex, I guess it’s OK. How much money do you think you need?”

  2. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    This was very funny! I only have one car but oh, I don’t know how I’ll share it with my son when the time comes….

Leave a Reply

