Expectant Parent of an Honor Roll Student

I received this from my daughter yesterday:

…followed by an email from the school’s volunteer coordinator, who wrote:

There will be a recognition event for all the kiddo’s that achieved Honor Roll (3.5 GPA or greater) next Wednesday (12/14) during 4th & 5th period lunches.  I will need some helpers in passing out ice cream sandwich’s to the students.  So, far I have counted over 640 recipients

There are 1400 kids in my daughter’s school. 45% made honor roll. Two questions:

1. Is that special?

2. Why are we supposed to be ‘proud’? Shouldn’t we expect our kids to get good grades? Isn’t that all they’re responsible for?

If this bumper sticker is worthy of a spot on my bumper, how about these:

Proud Parent of a potty-trained child!

Proud Parent of a child that can tie his own shoes!

Proud Parent of a child that got through a day of errands with no temper tantrums!

Proud Parent of a child who isn’t a bully!

If I had to slap a bumper sticker on my car for every one of their ‘achievements’, my car would look like this:

Are we obligated to celebrate every time our kid does something we expect?

Put your wallets away, say no to the bumper sticker and remind your kids that while you’re glad they came home with good grades (especially if they are prone to struggling), you will continue to expect that they work hard in school and all other areas of their lives.

Now, if your child ends up valedictorian of their high school class or regularly performs a good deed that results in someone else’s life being impacted for the better? Slap a bumper sticker on your car. That’s special.

About oneburnedoutmama

Ever so slightly burned out mama. Love kids. Not so much on a few of the parents. Hate folding laundry. Love long stretches of silence. Prefer rain over sun and football over HGTV.
This entry was posted in Humor, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Expectant Parent of an Honor Roll Student

  1. I was thrilled to pieces to get an Honor Roll sticker from my daughter’s middle school. The criteria was straight A’s. I am less thrilled about a campaign they have right now at our local high school that rewards anyone with a C or better. Really? Seriously? You get a reward for being average?

  2. awhite10 says:

    How can they reward kids with things like ice cream sandwiches and then make then take gym class? God I hated gym class. No one should be forced to do that!

  3. Nate Shenk says:

    Wow, I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed reading this lol. When I first began reading, I was thinking “Oh no, it’s going to be another ‘Look how awesome my child is,’ kind-of-post,” but IT WASN’T! I agree and never understand why I was being “rewarded” for things like passing the TAKS tests…I mean…come on…

  4. Not Supermom says:

    I couldn’t possibly agree with you more. What’s next? “Yay, Your Kid Is Mediocre!” bumpersticker?

Leave a Reply

